h1

My Testimony for Baptism

June 13, 2011

About to Enter Christ


Yesterday was my baptism. It was the most overwhelming experience of my life. I feel renewed. I feel like I get to start over. I feel like I have the chance to be 100% honest with myself and others. I’m sorry to those I have ever done wrong to. I hope you can forgive me. Thank you to those who showed up. I’m really moved by your attendance. To those who didn’t show up, I’m not mad. I understand. I love you no matter what the reason was for your not being there, even if that reason was not wanting to go/wanting to sleep in. I’m now posting the testimony I gave yesterday to show everyone how God made a difference in my life. So if you came late, wasn’t there at all or just wanted to see my words, here you go:

I was born unbaptized on November 1st 1987. I didn’t come to know God until high school, but God was always with me. He was with me when everything went downhill after my grandmother’s death. He was with me while I grew up in an violent home with alcoholic parents. In this home, I couldn’t laugh. I couldn’t be a kid. This place was a jail to me. I had to grow up quickly to be there for my brother and sister.

God was with me while my parents didn’t pay attention to my education and doings. The odds were stacked against me. But He didn’t give up on me. In high school, I came to the Church of the Holy Redeemer seeking refuge. The power of God and the love I received here kept me coming back.

Upon graduating college, I entered a dark place in my mind. I was back at my parents’ house because the lack of health insurance prevented me from joining a public service program. Once at home, my father made me feel less of myself with his jealousy filled comments. I soon felt all of the reasons why I went away to college returning. On top of that, I was having a difficult time finding a job.

God blessed me with the current job I have now. I moved out, but I was still going deeper and deeper into a dark place. I relied on people. I craved the physical presence of anyone. I was drinking on my own to escape from the reality of being alone. I was going to leave the Holy Redeemer to find a church closer to me…at least that’s what I said to myself.

Every Sunday, I would intend on resigning from being the co-chair of the Youth Ministry. But something kept pulling me back. Something sealed my mouth. Even at that time, I felt myself losing the desire to do public service. Apathy exists all around me and is contagious.

But then, I woke up. I discovered what I was set out to do by God. I got more in touch with Him. If there is one thing I learned in the baptism classes, it is what my one of inspirations Martin Luther King said in a sermon entitled “A Tough Mind and A Tender Heart,” “[God] does not leave us alone in our agonies and struggles. He seeks us in dark places and suffers with us and for us in our tragic prodigality.”

I’m not alone. God’s with me. He has always been there for me especially when my grandmother passed away up to this point. I thank Him for keeping me strong. I thank Him for inspiring and empowering me to push on forward. I thank Him for all He’s doing for my family, for all my fellow brothers and sisters and for myself at this present time and in the future.

I pray to Him in hopes that he forgives me for my own sins; the sins I don’t know of and do know of, such as cheating on a test, committing adultery, lying, stealing and doubting Him.

One of my favorite musical artists Kanye West once said, “I’ll never get cut, I’ll never get hurt, my heart will never hurt. No pain. And in a way, God delivered that to me, because there is nothing that can hurt me the way that things have hurt me in the recent past….he put me through so much that he helped turn me into this soldier. Every day he’s turning me more and more into the soldier that he needs me to be.”

I work for Him when I work for the people. I’m His warrior in the moral war for the people, for all of my brothers and sisters. Whenever I do something for any of you, don’t thank me. I don’t want that. I want you to thank God.

I forgive those who have done me wrong, even the greatest wrong done to me, rape. I don’t hold those wrongs against the wrongdoers. I love everyone! I wish God blesses you all!

Becaming Born Again

6 comments

  1. Wow that is so powerful Danny T..its wonderful to see and feel what God can do and I’m Thankful to God that he has allowed me to meet and befriend such a wonderful person..love Chelsea G.


  2. Thank you for your kind words, Chelsea. I thank God to have know you too. Love you! God bless!


  3. This was incredibly revealing and vulnerable. As much as we talk or build, I’ve learned new things about you. I’m happy to see you continually grow and mature personally, professionally, and morally. It’s a beautiful thing. I’m proud of you homie


  4. Thank you, brother.


  5. […] State of Mind Challenging Minds « My Testimony for Baptism My College Essay July 17, […]


  6. […] My approach now is to help young people in poverty get out one by one. I do that by sharing my life story, providing words of encouragement and advice, providing education on the college […]



Leave a Reply

