h1

I Am Poem

May 16, 2011


Here’s another email topic from my exchanges with my mentee. Little by little, I’m trying to write more. Lately, I’ve been inspired to write a book which is something I’ve wanted to do since I was in high school. Here is my poem:

I am strong and peaceful.
I wonder what painful things kids cry about at night.
I hear those cries.
I see kids’ tears running down their face.
I want peace for all of the young children.
I am strong and peaceful.

I pretend wipe the tears away of the kids who cry at night.
I feel the pain the kids feel at night.
I touch the sun to bring it down to brighten up the kids’ night.
I worry about these kids.
I cry for these kids.
I am strong and peaceful.

I understand what it is like to be a child crying yourself to sleep.
I say to these kids that there is a better tomorrow.
I dream of a better tomorrow for them.
I try to make that better tomorrow a reality one kid at a time.
I hope for a time where no kid cries his or her self asleep.
I am strong and peaceful.

Leave a Reply

