h1

Where I’m From Poem

May 1, 2011

It's a jungle out here!


I’m sorry for not posting much. But I do intend on posting more. You can catch me in small doses on Facebook and Twitter. I’m in a mentoring program where I email my mentee once a week. The program has set topics every week. Last week, we had to write a short poem about our neighborhoods. I wrote about my old neighborhood, East New York, Brooklyn. It’s only been less than a year since I left there. I still have family there, and I attend church there, The Church of the Holy Redeemer. At the church, I co-led a Youth Ministry group called Youth Experiencing Salvation (Y.E.S.). So it’s safe to say that my connect to East New York is still strong, and it’s going to get stronger as I get more involved.

Here is my poem:

Where I’m from sounds like pain.

Where I’m from tastes like blood.

Where I’m from looks like death.

Where I’m from smells like garbage.

Where I’m from feels like winter.

Leave a Reply

