h1

Young Adults, Stand Up!

December 8, 2010

YES!!!


Last night, I attended 2010’s Beat the Odds Awards dinner. Just as I did at last year’s event, I gave a speech. This year’s speech was about getting young people to step up.

The Beat the Odds scholarship has great meaning to me. Before I won the award in 2004, I was a boy trying to figure out how to escape poverty and the mental effects of it. I grew up in a home where every day I wondered if my siblings and I would get two meals, let alone three. I grew up in a home where I had to step between fighting parents. I grew up in a home that was a jail to me.

Winning this scholarship made me realize that people do care. It instilled a great hope in me. It was the gas that filled my tank. It lit a passion in me. That passion is to help my fellow brothers and sisters anyway I can. When I look at the brothers and sisters who I grew up and went to school with, I see the same hopelessness and confusion I once had. When I look at the brothers and sisters I serve at my job now, my passion is inflamed.

When I look at people such as Dr. King and Mrs. Edelman, I’m inspired to do more for my brothers and sisters. I’ve done things myself such as mentoring and creating the club Hip Hop Alliance at Skidmore College whose core mission is to bring people together, but I want to go above and beyond those things.

With that said, I call upon my fellow [brothers and sisters] to join me in ensuring not only our own success but the success of our brothers and sisters.

Let us work as hard as Marian Wright Edelman to ensure children have access to health care and to prevent abuse against children. Let us work as hard as she did in the founding of the Children’s Defense Fund. Let us be the voice of the poor children alongside CDF.

Please meet with me after this event is over, my brothers and sisters. THERE IS SO MUCH MORE TO BE DONE!

Brothers and sisters, we must stand up for our young brothers and sisters. We have nothing to lose!

Volunteer at a local church/library or become a mentor in a mentoring program. There is so much you can do for your brothers and sisters.

If you happen to live in New York City, feel free to get in touch with me if you would like to work with me on the various things I got cooking. If you want to get involved but don’t know where to start, check out these sites and if you live in New York City, check out this site as well. Let us not leave any of our brothers and sisters behind!

One comment

  1. […] of my own brother. Last year, I was planning to write a speech about my brother and myself for the Beat the Odds 2010 award dinner. I wanted to write about how united we once were and how we drifted […]



Leave a Reply

