h1

One Quote Everyday Part 2

May 9, 2010

A lot of gold here.

After a few months of reading, I finally finished this book. It was very enlightening and empowering. It made me realize a lot about myself. There were so many good quotes that I had to share them once again. Enjoy. Check out part one if you haven’t.

“Let us march on poverty until no American parent has to skip a meal so that their children may eat. March on poverty until no starved man walks the streets of our cities and towns in search of jobs that do not exist.”

“Finally, when a man was able to make his way through the maze of handicaps and get just one foot out of the jungle of poverty and exploitation, he was subject to the whims of the political and economic giants of the city, which moved in impersonally to crush the little flower of success that had just begun to bloom.”

“Hate is just as injurious to the hater as it is to the hated.”

“We are called to speak for the weak, for the voiceless, for the victims of our nation, for those it calls ‘enemy,’ for no document from human hands can make these humans any less our brothers.”

“A nation that continues year after year to spend more money on military defense than on programs of social uplift is approaching spiritual death.”

“…if you have never found something so dear and so precious to you that you will die for it, then you aren’t fit to live.”

“When you have mass unemployment in the [Black] community, it’s called a social problem; when you have mass unemployment in the [W]hite community, it’s called a depression.”

“And I said to my little children, ‘…I don’t ever want you to forget that there are millions of God’s children who will not and cannot get a good education, and I don’t want you feeling that you are better than they are. For you will never be what you ought to be until they are what they ought to be.'”

“We can all get more together than we can apart.”

“Dives went to hell because he allowed Lazarus to become invisible…he allowed the means by which he lived to outdistance the ends for which he lived…he sought to be a conscientious objector in the war against poverty…If America does not use her vast resources of wealth to end poverty and make it possible for all of God’s children to have the basic necessities of life, she too will go to hell.”

“…one of the great agonies of life is that we are constantly trying to finish that which is unfinishable…And so we, like David, find ourselves in so many instances having to face the fact that our dreams are not fulfilled. Life is a continual story of shattered dream.”

“Whenever you set out to build a creative temple, whatever it may be, you must face the fact that there is a tension at the heart of the universe between good and evil.”

“If I can help somebody as I pass along, if I can cheer somebody with a word or song, if I can show somebody he’s traveling wrong, then my living will not be in vain. If I can do my duty as a Christian ought, if I can bring salvation to a world once wrought, if I can spread the message as the master taught, then my living will not be in vain.”

One comment

  1. […] that interest me on my own. I discovered this book after seeing it cited in The Autobiography of Martin Luther King, Jr. Just as I did with the autobiography, I did a quote series for Dr. King’s Strength to Love on […]



Leave a Reply

