h1

Being 100 Can Be Dangerous

January 11, 2010

This allows people to take a hard look in the mirror.

Recently, I went on an interview for a job with a not-for-profit organization. I liked everything they were saying about the job and organization, but there was one major thing that rubbed me the wrong way. That thing was being 100% non-judgmental. They require the people working there to let the young people figure out what they want for their selves. One couldn’t even offer sound words of advice. I don’t work like that. I can’t.

I think it is important to education young people about their situation. Most of them only see what’s in front of them. They need a parent-like figure. They need someone who will give them a picture of the present and show what it could lead to in the distant future. I have a non-judgmental approach to a degree. I don’t let people feel that things which are out of their control are their fault. I just have them look into my eyes, and then I ask “Do you want to get out of this life?” Most do, but don’t know how. I just try to give them as much as I know. If I don’t know something, I suggest books and artists to them. I also encourage them to go talk to others while I do the same to ensure that the young person is helped. When I’m helping a young person, I assure them that I will be by their side. I build solid family-like relationships.

What we people forget from time to time is how little acts by us mean the world to others especially young people. I know that firsthand with the many tight friendships I build over the years. I had some people uplift me, instill hope, inspire me. I had others who just made me want to shut down forever. With those friendships, I learned how one can have a family even if their actually ones (the ones in the household at least) have no interest in you. I also learned this from the three father figures in my life.

Being 100% non-judgmental is impossible for me to do because of the life I lived. I needed to be educated by those friends and father figures. Being 100% non-judgmental would mean letting my brother fill in-between the cracks. It would mean letting that young man going to college lose himself to the streets. It would mean that I wouldn’t be where I am today. It would mean letting young people I will meet in the future disappear into the wind. I speak from a place of love. I want young people to succeed. I’ll be damned to let one fall off the cliff with no end.

One comment

  1. […] could go on and on if I wanted to. I’m a problem solver. I hate people who complain and have nothing to offer. I hate only being an ear. I’m the type […]



Leave a Reply

