h1

The Man Behind the Blog

November 30, 2009

I wanted to post this video so that all of you can get an idea of who I am. This is a video that was shot in my senior year of high school as a result of me winning the Children Defense Fund’s Beat the Odds Scholarship in 2004 (I gave a speech at this year’s award show). I was also featured in the New York Daily News (you can read the article by clicking the link). There’s a lot more to me than this, but what you see here is part of my reason for fighting poverty. I don’t ever want a child to endure what I have or even worse. This is why I’m trying to find meaningful work now. I’m having trouble doing that, but I’m still finding ways to make a difference. I’m doing a workshop on applying to college in February at my local library, and I’m getting more involved with my church. We can always find ways to make a difference. I hope this inspires you to do something. Take care.

3 comments

  1. I Love it!


  2. […] 2008. The young kids really someone who cares. Very few make it out of these poor neighborhoods. I was one of the lucky ones. But how many young people must die before Mr. Towns steps […]


  3. […] I wrote this essay without thinking about the impact it would have. This was the essay that won me many scholarships and got me into mostly every school I applied […]



Leave a Reply

